Markham Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

Actions
Loading...

Sites To Visit

sites to visit banner

Thornhill Cluster

Ladies' Golf Club of Toronto

Thornhill Village Library

Wong Dai Sin Temple

Markham Centre Cluster

105 Gibson Centre

York University Y-Space

Hatch Specialty Coffee

Unionville Cluster

Bethesda Evangelical Lutheran Church

Varley Art Gallery

McKay Art Centre

St. Philip's-on-the-Hill Anglican Church

Angus Glen Golf Club

St. Maurice and St. Verena Coptic Orthodox Church

Markham Village Cluster

Markham Fire Station 97

St. Dimitriji Solunski Macedonian Orthodox Church

Markham Village Train Station

Rouge River Brewing Company

Wayne's Cup

Aaniin Community Centre & Library



Ladies’ Golf Club of Toronto

  • 7859 Yonge Street [map]
  • Established: 1924
  • Website

Ada Mackenzie, a Canadian golf champion, was the driving force behind the establishment of the Ladies’ Golf Club of Toronto in the early 1920s. The golf course was designed by the distinguished course architect Stanley Thompson and opened in 1926. The clubhouse, in the Georgian Revival style, was originally a country estate house constructed in 1922 for Strafford Watson, the son of lawyer George Watson. The club is unique in North America as the only remaining private golf club established by women for women.

Activities: Putting challenge (chance for prize) and guided tours.

Guided tours 11:30 a.m., 12:30 p.m., 1:30 p.m.; putting contest (prizes); draw for free golf lesson from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.; cash bar 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m



Thornhill Village Library  Thornhill Village Library

  • 10 Colborne Street [map]
  • Year Built: c.1851
  • Website

This mid-19th century house in the classic revival style was converted to a public library in the 1970s under the direction of restoration architect Napier Simpson Jr., whose office was next door. It is a cherished local amenity that fits comfortably into the exceptional historic streetscape of Colborne Street, the highlight of old Thornhill. Recently, the library was featured in Deborah Kerbel’s ghost story, Lure, published by Dundurn Press in 2010. The ghost of Ellen Ramsden, the original owner, is said to make an appearance from time to time.

Activities: Guided tours and ghost stories.

 


Wong Dai Sin Temple Wong Dai Sin Temple

  • 378 Steeles Avenue [map]
  • Year Built: 2015

This remarkable expression of contemporary architecture designed by Shim-Sutcliffe Architects is home to the Fung Loy Kok Institute of Taoism, dedicated to inner spiritual development through the practice of the ancient art of tai chi. It is a modern sacred space that houses a dynamic Taoist community. The cantilevered form recalls the measured balance of a tai chi pose. Winner of the 2016 Governor General’s Medal for Architecture.

Activities: Guided tours very 30 minutes and community chanting from 10 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

 


105 Gibson Centre 150 Gibson Centre

The 105 Gibson Centre is a Christian faith-based community centre devoted to bringing positive changes to the surrounding neighbourhood. The centre is an active place offering recreational facilities and programs, youth services, wellness awareness, abundant life programs, and a food bank. At the heart of the facility is the Cultural Café, a friendly gathering place offering food, drink and fellowship. Tours are offered in English, Cantonese and Mandarin. There will be a BBQ. Visitors are invited to bring non-perishable items for the Markham Foodbank.

Activities: BBQ hotdogs 11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m. and concert/workshops 12 – 4 p.m.



York University Y-Space

  • 169 Enterprise Blvd. [map]

Y-Space is York University’s state-of-the-art community engagement centre in the heart of Markham Centre – Markham’s emerging “downtown.” The centre offers opportunities for entrepreneurship and innovation.

Activities:

  • Tours of the space (10 minutes) between 11AM and 3PM
  • Provide advice on business models and local resources available in Markham for growth
  • Light refreshments are available from our inhouse Food Retail companies: Ohh FoodsCandy Cutlery, and Tranzfuse
  • T-Shirt giveaway to the first 25 visitors


Hatch Specialty Coffee 

  • 802B Cochrane Drive [map]

Hatch Specialty Coffee is a coffee lab, roaster and brewery. Many of its coffee beans are sourced by direct trade from coffee growers. The roasting style is strongly influenced by Scandinavian-style light roasts. This site features tours of the roaster and brewer, and coffee tasting.

Activities: Guided tours of coffee factory and brewing area.

 


Bethesda Evangelical Lutheran Church Bethesda Lutheran Church

  • 20 Union Street [map]
  • Year Built: 1910

Bethesda Lutheran Church is one of the longest-established churches in York Region. The congregation began with the arrival of William Berczy’s group of German settlers in 1794. Today it remains a centre of worship of descendants of these founding Markham families. The present building dates from 1910, incorporating materials from the earlier church building constructed in 1862 north of Unionville. Visitors can admire the early 20th century Gothic Revival interior with beautiful memorial windows and a century-old pipe organ.

Activities: Live music and guided tours of the church and cemetery from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. (every 15 minutes) and live music.



Varley Art Gallery

  • 216 Main Street, Unionville [map]
  • Year Built: 1997
  • Website

Situated at the top of Unionville’s historic village core, the Frederick Horsman Art Gallery of Markham is an excellent example of post-modern architecture that contrasts with the neighbouring heritage buildings. The gallery, named after Group of Seven artist Fred Varley who lived in Unionville in his later years, is home to a fine collection of the artist’s oils, watercolours and drawings, as well as the art of many other Canadian artists. The main gallery features changing exhibits to enhance the visitor experience.

Activities: Gallery/vault tours and Crazy Dames Artists-in-Residency.



McKay Art Centre McKay Art Centre

  • 197 Main Street, Unionville [map]
  • Year Built: c.1850
  • Website

This distinctive example of Ontario vernacular architecture in board and batten features dramatic gothic revival and classic revival detailing. It was originally the home of Salem Eckardt, the local auctioneer in the Village of Unionville. Group of Seven artist Frederick Varley lived here in his later years as a guest of Kathy McKay, and had a studio in the basement.  The space now showcases the work of local artists and provides a studio for art instruction in an environment that overlooks a landscaped garden and the Bruce Creek valley.

Activities: See the work of local artists and visit the site of Fred Varley’s studio.

 


St. Philip's-on-the-Hill Anglican Church 

  • 9400 Kennedy Road [map]
  • Established 1794
  • Website

St. Philip's-on-the-Hill’s history goes back to Unionville’s early settlement period when Lutherans and Anglicans worshipped together under Reverend Vincent Mayerhoffer. The congregation split during the tumultuous times of the 1837 Rebellion in Upper Canada when those that supported the government decided to establish their own Anglican church across the road. In 1913, the congregation moved to a new location in Unionville. The historic cemetery remained to mark the original site of St. Philip's. In 1986, the congregation moved back to the first location in a new larger new church building.

Activities: include church tours and children’s activities.

 


Angus Glen Golf Club

  • 10080 Kennedy Road [map]

The Angus Glen Golf Club features two 18-hole championship courses located on a portion of the former Angus Glen Farms property. The golf course was established by Gordon Stollery in 1995, and in that year, Golf Digest ranked it Canada’s best new course. The north course was added in 2001. Angus Glen hosted the Canadian Open in 2002 and 2007, and the Pam Am Games golf tournaments in 2015. Come try a putting challenge and test your golf skills in a beautiful setting. There is also a great restaurant grill here for a bite to eat.

Activities: Putting challenge (chance for prize) and tours



St. Maurice and St. Verena Coptic Orthodox Church

  • 3300 Highway 7 [map]
  • Year Built: 2015-2016
This new place of worship boasts a unique architectural design combining ancient tradition with contemporary appeal. The Coptic Church was established in Egypt in the first century A.D. and came to Canada with Coptic immigration in the middle of the 20th century. The complex features a place of worship and a community centre providing a gymnasium, banquet hall, day care centre, recording studio, and classrooms.

Activities: Guided tours, annual church fair, BBQ, bouncy castle, yard sale, crafts and bake sale


Markham Fire Station 97  Markham Village Fire Station

  • 209 Main Street North, Markham [map]
  • Year built: 1985
  • Website

The design of this building was inspired by late 19th century fire halls, and features a 60-foot tall replica of a hose drying tower, common to most fire halls back in the day. The fire hall was designed to fit into the context of historic Markham Village. Young and old are fascinated by fire trucks and fire-fighting technology. Fire prevention and fire fighting are an important part of the City of Markham’s municipal administration.

Activities: Safety demonstrations and children’s activities

 


St. Dimitriji Solunski Macedonian Orthodox Church

  • 201 Main Street North [map]
  • Built: 1993

A modern church in white stone, built to reflect the traditional architecture of centuries-old church buildings in Macedonia. The interior contains breathtaking wall and ceiling paintings executed in the Byzantine style. In recent years, portions of the building have been re-clad in red and buff colours to begin the process of making the exterior more reflective of the historic churches this building’s design was inspired by.

Activities: Church Tours



Markham Village Train Station 

  • 216 Main Street [map]
  • Year Built: 1870

The restoration of this original Toronto & Nipissing Railway station was the first major project of the Markham Village Conservancy. The restoration of the building was completed in 2000. When the railway opened in 1871, the station and the area became a busy hub of commercial and industrial activity. The station continues to serve GO Transit commuters and functions as a local community centre for meetings and classes. The exterior paint colour scheme is reproduced from c.1910 when the rail line was part of the Grand Trunk Railway system.



Rouge River Brewing Company

  • 50 Bullock Drive, Unit 8 [map]
  • Established: 2017 

Markham’s first craft brewery, located just west of old Markham Village, features award-winning hop-forward American style ales, sour beers and Belgian farmhouse style ales. Beers are brewed on site, and can be sampled in the tap room or enjoyed in the brew pub. Stop by for a taste!

Activities: Guided tour with brew master.

 


Wayne's Cup 

  • 9889 Highway 48, Unit 4 [map]

Wayne’s Cup is a not-for-profit café and life-skills centre dedicated to the development of adults with special needs, which includes but is not limited to, Autism Spectrum Disorder, Asperger’s syndrome, and developmental delay. Supportive training is provided to develop skills in running the café as well as life skills in a fun working environment which promotes social interaction.

Activities: Refreshments for sale, coffee demonstration, live music



Aaniin Community Centre & Library

  • 5665 14th Avenue [map]
  • Year Built: 2017

Markham’s newest community centre is a stunning example of contemporary architectural design. “Aaniin” is the Ojibwe word for “welcome.” The building was designed by the Toronto branch of the global architectural firm Perkins and Will. The community centre features a library, aqua climbing wall, aquatic centre, gym, teaching kitchen, and more. The design is intended to reflect an urban idea of space suited to hosting a wide variety of community events.

Activities: Guided tours, walking/running track, giant games, 3D printer, digital embroidery and STEAM storytelling (11:00 – 11:30 a.m.).