About Us

About Us

The Varley Art Gallery of Markham is a vital cultural hub for artists and diverse communities. A municipal gallery, we create critical conversations about Canadian art and society. We inspire local and national audiences to engage with art through outstanding exhibitions and rich public and educational programs relevant to the communities we serve. We support artists from York region and seek to broaden access to the arts for diverse artists and cultural groups. We also share and celebrate the life and work of F.H. Varley, a founding member of the Group of Seven.

The Varley Art Gallery is situated on the traditional territories of Indigenous Peoples including the Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe. We are committed to reconciliation, partnership and enhanced understanding.

Varley Art Gallery Programs include:

  • Rotating art exhibitions
  • Public events: lectures, talks, tours, workshops, complementing Varley exhibitions.
  • Art Camps in summer, winter and March Break
  • Art Classes for students from the age of four to senior citizen
  • Educational programs: field trips, activities and tours tied to the Ontario curriculum
  • Professional Development for Teachers
  • Publications that accompany Varley exhibitions
  • Organization and circulation of touring exhibitions
  • Private and corporate event rentals at the Varley Art Gallery; studio and exhibition rentals at the McKay Art Centre
  • A Volunteer Program operated by the Varley-McKay Art Foundation of Markham

 

Contacts

Position Name Email Telephone

Director
 Niamh O'Laoghaire nolaoghaire@markham.ca 905.477.7000, extension 3273

Curator
Anik Glaude aglaude@markham.ca
905.477.7000, extension 3262

Public Programs Coordinator
Rachel D'Oliveira Fell rdoliveirafell@markham.ca 905.477.7000, extension 3268

Adminstrator, Rentals, Membership
Doriana Cabeceiras dcabeceiras@markham.ca 905.477.7000, extension 3263

Exhibitions, Collections and Facilities Coordinator
John Abrams jabrams@markham.ca 905.477.7000, extension 3265

Front Desk/Reception Staff
Zoe Eisenstat, Annie Lau, Abby Sasikumar, Francesca Volpe
varley@markham.ca

905.477.7000, extension 3261

Varley-McKay Art Foundation Development Officer
Francesca Dauphinais fdauphinais@markham.ca
905.477.7000, extension 3264



Footer
Complementary Content
${loading}